<$BlogRSDUrl$> <body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d5774626\x26blogName\x3dCollege+Basketball\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dBLUE\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttp://collegeball.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://collegeball.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d6980192687323097252', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>
yoco :: College Basketball
(a sports weblog) news and commentary on men's college basketball and the ncaa tournament

yoco :: College Basketball has a new home! If you are not automatically redirected to http://www.yocohoops.com in 5 seconds, please click here.

Sunday, September 19, 2004

Pool o' Experts

Via an old associate (of sorts), Salon's King Kaufman.

Inspired by the "irritating hubris" of Sports Illustrated's magazine bracket, King last spring assembled an all-star cast for his second annual Pool o' Experts.

The winner? Broadcaster Tim Brando.

Review the results below. Food for thought as you read and listen to the punditry of each of the below-mentioned commentators.

The final standings, with point totals, based on 10 points for each correct pick in the first round, then 20, 40, 80, 120 and 160 in subsequent rounds:

1. Tim Brando, Sporting News/CBS: 1,190
2. Tony Mejia, CBS.SportsLine.com: 970
3. Sports Illustrated: 940
4. Grant Wahl, Sports Illustrated: 930
4. John Salley, Fox Sports Net: 930
6. King Kaufman, Salon: 850
7. Mike DeCourcy, Sporting News: 740
8. Alexander Wolff, Sports Illustrated: 720
8. Seth Davis, Sports Illustrated/CBS: 720
10. NCAA Selection Committee: 700
11. Stewart Mandel, Sports Illustrated: 690
12. Buster, Coinflip Weekly: 520